Support from Investors

Investors increasingly recognize that environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors can affect a company’s ability to manage risk and deliver financial performance over the long-term.  ESG data and information can provide investors with a more comprehensive view of company performance, and contribute to more accurate long-term valuations.

To promote and encourage the use of high-quality, comparable sustainability data, investors can join the SASB Alliance and Investor Advisory Group (IAG) and actively engage with corporate leaders to foster better corporate reporting and transparency.

Investor Advisory Group

SASB’s Investor Advisory Group (IAG) comprises leading asset owners and asset managers who are committed to improving the quality and comparability of sustainability-related disclosure to investors.

Investor Advisory Group Statement

The SASB Investor Advisory Group (IAG) comprises leading asset owners and asset managers who recognize the need for consistent, comparable and reliable disclosure of material and decision-useful ESG information.  IAG Members:

  • Encourage companies to disclose material and decision-useful ESG information to investors
  • Believe standards would improve the quality and comparability of sustainability-related information
  • Believe SASB’s approach—which is industry-specific and materiality-focused—will help provide investors with relevant and decision-useful information
  • Agree to participate in SASB’s ongoing standards development process, so that outcomes best reflect investor needs
  • Agree to encourage companies to participate in SASB’s ongoing standards development process, so that outcomes reflect both issuer and investor viewpoints
  • Believe that SASB standards can inform integration of sustainability factors into investment and/or stewardship processes, such as corporate engagement and proxy voting

Hugh Young
Aberdeen Standard Investments
Head of Asia

Egon Vavrek
APG (All Pensions Group)
Fundamental Equities, Global Emerging Markets

Anna Snider
Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Head of Due Diligence for the Chief Investment Officer, Global Wealth & Investment Management

Jennifer Coulson
BCI (British Columbia Investment Management Corporation)
Senior Manager, ESG Integration | Public Equities


Michelle Edkins
Managing Director &
Global Head of Investment Stewardship

breckenridgePeter Coffin
Breckinridge Capital Advisors
Founder & President

calpersTed Eliopoulos
Chief Investment Officer

calstrsChristopher Ailman
Chief Investment Officer (IAG Chair)

John Streur
Calvert Research and Management
President & CEO

Robert W. Lovelace
Capital Group

Carole M. Laible
Domini Impact Investments


Hugh Lawson
Goldman Sachs Asset Management
Managing Director
Global Head of Institutional Client Strategy

Dan Hanson
JANA Partners LLC
Head of Impact Investing
Co-Portfolio Manager, JANA Impact Capital

Rui de Figueiredo
Morgan Stanley Investment Management
Co-Head and Chief Investment Officer, Solutions & Multi-Asset Group

Scott Evans
New York City Retirement Systems
Deputy Comptroller for Asset Management and Chief Investment Officer

Eivind Lorgen
Nordea Investment Management, North America

Christopher Shipley
Northern Trust Asset Management
Senior Vice President and Head of Fundamental Equities

Barbara Zvan
Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan
Chief Risk & Strategy Officer

John Skjervem
Oregon State Treasury | Investment Division
Chief Investment Officer

Jameela Pedicini
Perella Weinberg Partners
Executive Director

Felix Lanters
Head of Equities

Christian Stracke
Global Head of Credit Research

Margaret Stumpp
QMA (a PGIM company)
Senior Advisor

Lynn Blake
State Street Global Advisors
Executive Vice President & Chief Investment Officer, Global Head of Beta Solutions

Bruce M. Kahn, Ph.D.
Sustainable Insight Capital Management
Portfolio Manager

Tom Franks
TIAA Investments
Chief Investment Officer, Global Equities

Benjamin L. Cotton, CFA
UAW Retiree Medical Benefits Trust
Senior Managing Director, Liquid Markets
Thomas Henley
Senior Managing Director, Strategic Opportunities

Bruno Bertocci
UBS Asset Management
Managing Director, Head of Sustainable Investors

Glenn Booraem
Principal and Head of Corporate Governance

Heidi Soumerai
Walden Asset Management
Managing Director, Director of ESG  Research

wfassetmgmtKirk Hartman
Wells Fargo Asset Management
President and Chief Investment Officer
Wells Capital Management

David Zellner
Wespath Investment Management
Chief Investment Officer

The SASB Alliance

Expectations from a wide range of corporate stakeholders for more detailed reporting on sustainability have yielded high rates of such reporting. Today, expectations of a wide range of investors for higher quality sustainability data is also growing, resulting in a need for tools through which companies can better translate their work on sustainability into a language and format more usable to investors across asset classes and strategies.

View the Organizational Members of the SASB Alliance